Decluttering

I have spent two and a half months going through our house, every nook and cranny. Going through every item we owned and it has been a huge job.

What started this?

I went back home, alone for three months, sleeping mostly on other peoples couches. It was my rock bottom for 2018. I was destroyed and wasnt sure who i would be when i get back to my own home.

One of my family members put a knife to their wrist right in front of me, they would strip me emotionally.

After coming home, i found i came back to chaos, our area of the house was just full of stuff everywhere. Clothes, garbage, the bed was unmade.

I couldnt handle it. I couldnt control my experiences back home, but i cpuld control my living space. I could make my sanctuary something i want to be in.

We got rid of so much stuff. A friend had to come over twice and help me take the stuff to the op shop, because my car was too small.

It was hard letting go, but freeing to have a space that is starting to feel safe, warm and inviting.

Leave a comment